MSU recognizes outstanding doctoral students and faculty mentors

The newest inductees of the MSU Graduate Student Hall of Fame include (from left) graduate students Ethan Woodyard, Shuvam Saha, Devin Chen, Karen Kelley, Nicole Reeder, Marissa Bello and Vitaliy Skorodziyevskiy. (Submitted photo)

Contact: James Carskadon

STARKVILLE, Mississippi – Mississippi State University recognizes graduate students and faculty mentors for outstanding teaching, research, and service contributions in the 2021-22 academic year.

MSU Graduate School and the Graduate Student Association recently presented their annual awards in an end-of-semester ceremony on campus.

The newest members of the MSU Graduate Student Hall of Fame are:

—Marissa Bello of Starkville, a graduate student in kinesiology representing the College of Education;

– Devin Chen of Omaha, Nebraska, a forest resources graduate student representing the College of Forest Resources;

– Karen Kelley of Starkville, a psychology graduate student representing the College of Arts and Sciences;

– Nicole Reeder of Columbus, PhD Food Scientist, Nutrition and Health Promotion, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences Representative;

– Shuvam Saha of Starkville, an aerospace engineering graduate student representing Bagley College of Engineering;

—Vitaliy Skorodziyevskiy of Starkville, a graduate student in management and information systems representing the College of Business; and

– Ethan Woodyard of Starkville, a graduate student in veterinary medicine representing the College of Veterinary Medicine.

That year, the Graduate Student Association introduced the Graduate Student Excellence Award to recognize graduate students who excel in MSU’s three-pronged mission of teaching, research, and service. First prize winners include:

– Rebecca Bracken of Austin, Texas, a graduate student in forest resources;

—Shuvam Saha from Starkville, a graduate student in aerospace engineering;

– Lorena Chavarro-Chaux from Starkville, Masters student in civil engineering.

Other people who received awards for 2021-22 include:

– Alexis Jackson of Spanaway, Washington, a graduate student in human development and family studies, Graduate Service Assistant of the Year;

—Ernesto Borrego from Starkville, PhD student in chemistry, Graduate Research Assistant of the Year;

– Angel Jimenez of Starkville, PhD student in Earth Sciences, Donald Zacharias Graduate Teaching Assistant of the Year; and

—Chaomin Luo, Associate Professor at the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Advisor of the Year.

For more information on MSU’s graduate programs, visit

MSU is Mississippi’s premier university, available online at

Comments are closed.